Armor Introduction

Growing up, my mom put a coloring page cut-out of a man dressed up in armor by our front door. Every morning, before going out to the bus stop, my mom would pray over us that we would be clothed in the armor, that the Holy Spirit would equip us for the day. Sometimes I would get frustrated that she was stopping me on my rush to the “one-minute-until-the-bus,” but other (slightly fewer) times, it touched my heart that my mom cared that much about my day.

Regardless, the point was equip me spiritually for high school, where at any moment “the world could end” with a guy not seeing me, where I would need the helmet of Salvation that protects my thoughts to know that I am loved by a God that loves me no matter what. It was to remind me of the very real war over my mind, will, and emotions. It was to tell the enemy that he had no business messing with her little girl. Over the next few blog posts, I will go into each piece of the armor, how it related to my race and practical tips for your own race!

“13 Therefore, put on the complete armor of God, so that you will be able to [successfully] resist and stand your ground in the evil day [of danger], and having done everything [that the crisis demands], to stand firm [in your place, fully prepared, immovable, victorious]. 14 So stand firm and hold your ground, having[a]tightened the wide band of truth (personal integrity, moral courage) around your waist and having put on the breastplate of righteousness (an upright heart), 15 and having [b]strapped on your feet the gospel of peace in preparation [to face the enemy with firm-footed stability and the readiness produced by the good news]. 16 Above all, lift up the [protective] [c]shield of faith with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one. 17 And take the helmet of salvation, and the sword of the Spirit, which is the Word of God.”  NLT

(The armor picture is not mine and was found at https://sundayschoolzone.com/activity/the-armor-of-god-coloring-page/).

 

Leave a comment